That’s just not how I roll. Here’s why.

milk glass, peonies, anenomes, ranunculus, antique china, vintage wedding, mint, pink, gold

Here is just one of my floral and tablescape designs. A perfect example of what happens when one stylist pulls all of the details together.

Every couple of months or so, an inquiry comes across my email that reads a little something like this:

“Hi! I was wondering if I could just rent your _______  (fill in this blank with any one of my large pieces of furniture) for my wedding next month. I can send one of my husband’s groomsmen to pick it up and bring it back to you so you don’t have to worry about delivering it and picking it up. How much would that cost? Thanks!”

Trust me, I get it. I can’t blame a girl for trying; however, I always politely decline such inquiries with an offer of sincere congratulations along with a brief explanation that I operate much differently from all of the other vintage rental companies scattered about the country. Basically, I care too much about my couples to just send them down the road Sanford & Son’s style with antique furniture spewing out of the back of a pick-up truck headed toward the venue of their choosing. Over the months between the initial consult and the moment their feet hit that aisle, I build real relationships with my brides. We talk regularly, email and text sometimes daily, share ideas and secret Pinterest boards and inspiration perfectly tailored for their big day. I create custom watercolor signs just for them, let the chalk fly on personalized chalkboards, and hunt down the most perfect china with accents from their color palette. They are not simply a date or a booking to me, they become friends for whom I work tirelessly to ensure that the idyllic wedding that visits them each night in their dreams becomes a reality.

And, basically, that takes a whole lot more than an antique settee thrown in the corner of a venue.

The heart of my job – my company – lies within wedding design, the comprehensive overview with which cohesiveness reigns supreme. Along the way through my obsession with all things weddings, I have browsed more than my fair share of images where there was a disconnect between the critical design elements. Where the florals failed to compliment the decor (and vice versa), where there was confusion as to exactly how to blend elements from different themes together, where seemingly little was personalized. Stated simply, my brides deserve better and I strive everyday to ensure that they get nothing shy of my very best.

I am, indeed, a designer/stylist/bride’s bestie first and foremost. Brides hire me, not necessarily my furniture or my impressive collection of milk glass. I am that person to whom they share their excitement, the chick who literally sprints across the grand lawn to make certain that each and every thing is perfectly in place for the ceremony, the cocktail hour and the reception.

My huge inventory of hand refinished antique furniture is just the icing on the wedding cake.

Stay tuned for my next post entitled, “Say what?! 2+Hue is offering FLORALS now, too? Yay!”

Leave a Reply

