I do all my own stunts!

Yes, it’s true. I do actually refinish every single piece of furniture in my inventory; by hand and by myself. So, when I came across a stunning set of dressers in one of my favorite shops, I simply could not resist. I am enamored by the craftsmanship and attention to detail that defines antique pieces. The delicate wood moulding combined with original wooden casters, oh my. Don’t even get me started on the gorgeous brass hardware that was completely intact – score!

Weddings-by-2-plus-hue-Orlando-vintage-rentals-and-styling-antique-mint-green-dresser_zps1530f6bdOrlando vintage wedding, gold, white, antique furniture

I knew immediately the direction I wanted to take in transforming these beauties. Staying true to my disdain of anything too “matchy”, I dove headfirst into my paint collection to offer a preview of several of my upcoming 2013 weddings and styled shoots. Remember 2012 when I seemed to arrive at every event armed with cratefuls of Mason jars, antique silver and pink as far as the eye could see? Yeah, me too. And, though I have no plans of abandoning those staples entirely, I will be spreading my wings and exploring new palettes and new metallics in the months ahead.

In 2013, mint green will be featured heavily in several of my original designs. Worry not, there will still be plenty of soft blushes and some hues of blue here and there, but mint is where it’s at here at 2+Hue. To compliment the various shades of green, I will be utilizing a lot of gold this year. Everything from tiny handmade and hand painted details to this sizable statement piece complete with shimmering drawers and a lightly distressed base will fill the pages of my blog – and my portfolio – this year.

I am so excited for where we are headed and ready to push my creativeness toward more ambitious heights. I hope you’ll join me on this most exciting adventure!

xoxo ~ Sarah

Leave a Reply

