Oh Honey! Part 1 – The Table

If you follow 2+Hue on Facebook, then you already know that the shoot that we styled in September was selected to be featured on The Wedding Chicks! The feature is scheduled to appear sometime in the next 3-5 weeks and I will post a direct link when it hits the internet. Until then, however, I have decided to break-down the images into separate installments so that I may fully explain the method – and a few tricks – to my styling. So, have a seat and hang out with me a while as we explore the dining table.

I decided to depart slightly from my 2+Hue inventory and I actually brought my own personal dining table to the shoot. My husband and I built this table by hand from repurposed scrap lumber nearly a year ago. The boards were weathered and though the length of each is uniform, they do vary in width which adds an extra element of interest to the overall design. Think, southern elegance meets charming picnic table. We chose to keep the place settings simple and uncluttered. The rustic feel of the table was actually highlighted, rather than concealed, by the clear dinner plates. Mix and match flatware from my personal collection, antique linen napkins, a honey swirl and clear glass stemware completed each setting. Often times, simplicity is nearest to perfection!

This is the point at which I become blatantly honest. I do not care for centerpieces in the sense that they are typically displayed. I adore the aesthetic of a scattered approach of visual interest on a table. Early in the design brainstorming process, Amalie, who photographed the shoot, and I agreed wholeheartedly on our love of vintage blue mason jars. I happen to have a sizable collection of them so we knew that they would feature heavily in the shoot. To accent the vintage blue, we decided on a honey hued tone. Amalie and I collaborated on another shoot at my home back in July in which I had a tablescape design that featured a small apothecary jar filled with honey. As the light streamed through the glass of orange/brown goodness, it was perfectly clear that blue mason jars and honey would be the inspiration for this shoot.

A few accents of clear mason jars and simple tea light candles balance the blue ensuring that it did not become visually overwhelming. My favorite rustic crate was utilized as a riser in the center of the table. Always fond of understated florals, we chose simple baby’s breath as the only flowers on the table.

Staying true to my vintage southern roots, mismatched chairs – and even an antique school desk seat – comprised the seating for the table. Six blue bottles filled with baby’s breath were attached to an overhanging oak limb and served as our chandelier. Undeniably, my favorite detail of the tablescape was the runner. I was fortunate to have worked with a photographer who is not only incredibly talented and a good friend, but she completely trusts my styling judgement. So, when I was on the phone with her weeks prior to the shoot and announced that I wanted to make a table runner out of cheesecloth, Amalie did not hesitate to tell me to go for it. Here, I combined two lengths of cheesecloth and dip dyed them in a strong concentration of brewed tea. After achieving the desired hue, I dried the lengths and began the process of ‘distressing’ the cloth. I desired an aesthetic with a decidedly vintage feel but that bordered on bohemian whimsy. I am delighted with the result and will most definitely work cheesecloth into my tablescapes in the future.

Amalie and I most certainly did not pull this shoot off on our own. A team of talented vendors lent their expertise to the overall goodness of this shoot. That team includes:

Photography: Amalie Orrange

Cake and biscuits:  The Sugar Suite 

Flowers:  Weddings by Carly Ane’s 

Hair and Makeup: Cristina Severino

Paper goods:  Dogwood Blossoms Stationary 

Our next honey shoot installment will feature the details of the biscuit bar so stay tuned!

Until then,

Sarah

Leave a Reply

