It’s all about the details…

Last Saturday, I was truly honored to style the wedding of Chelsea and Chris at my favorite venue, The Cypress Grove Estate House. I knew the instant that I met Chelsea that she and I were meant to work together. She was, herself, creative and artistic and open to exploring details not often seen in a wedding. Indeed, she is my kind of girl!

Only the best would do for Chelsea so my team and I embarked on three hours of full indoor and outdoor styling. Here are a few sneak peeks of the pure goodness.

If you are familiar with Cypress Grove, you already know that the estate house provides the most perfect opportunities for styling. Here, I designed the mantlescape with a touch of southern rustic elegance. Chelsea loves milk glass so there was no shortage of white vintage lovely. Soft sprays of baby’s breath and stalks of cotton – a personal favorite – tucked into glass apothecaries added a hint of softness. I centered a duo of our hand painted burlap banners inside an open ornate frames as a focal point. And, of course, I took full advantage of the rustic crates to stage a vignette of candlelit mason jars in the fireplace.

I took full advantage of the built-in shelving to create a vignette of mismatched crystal with tea light candles and frames filled with paper which was tea dyed and custom printed to read, “From This Day Forward.”

Chelsea and Chris’ reception took place outdoors at the Estate House. Our custom refinished vintage desk proved to be perfect as the guest sign-in table. Topped with an antique typewriter, glass apothecary jars filled with baby’s breath, and one of our large antique silver platters with a collection of vintage crystal decanters.

To add a personalized touch to the decanters, I hand-dyed yet more sheets of paper in tea and cut out six custom labels. On the labels I stamped, “Oh happy day 10 6 2012.”

Our custom made directional chalkboard signs kept the guests informed. To combat the occasional stiff breeze, I made burlap cinched sandbags to steady the bases.

I simply cannot get my fill of chalkboards! Pictured above are two of our ornate framed chalkboard signs.

The sweetheart was one of my most favorite customizations of the reception. Our most popular dining table set the scene for a tablescape punctuated by milk glass. The twine wrapped “R” was Chelsea’s and she wanted me to style it into the wedding somehow. Acknowledging her love of milk glass, I attached it – in a bed of southern Spanish moss – to a vintage milk glass pedestal. Behind the sweetheart table is our custom made vintage fabric backdrop which displayed a sign created by the bride herself.

Many more images of the spectacular dessert table will follow in future posts. However, here is a sneak peek. I scribed the sentiment, “love sweet love” on three of our antique English ironstone dessert plates for a unique take on decor. The dessert pedestal displaying macaroons, made by Wendy Woo Cakes, in the center was custom made by me from a repurposed baluster and yet another piece of antique English ironstone. The ornate gold frame in the background belonged to the bride. She had collected it months ago and fell in love with it, but had no idea how to work it into her wedding decor. I cut a piece of plywood to fit the frame and attached our “sweet” plate front and center. Pure love!

As previously mentioned, many, many more images will be forthcoming from this gorgeous wedding. Believe it or not, there are plenty of more custom details to be seen!

Until then,

Sarah

One thought on “It’s all about the details…

Leave a Reply

